Skip To Main Content

Participating in the Legislative Process

The WA State Legislature convenes each January for the purpose of creating/revising state laws and to establish/revise the state budget. In odd-numbered years (the budget year), the Legislature meets for 105 days, and for 60 days in even-numbered years.

As with voting, participating in the state’s legislative process is a way that individuals can have a voice in the policies and funding established by the state legislature. State legislators welcome your involvement in the process and hope you'll take the opportunity to participate.

 

Here are ways you can share your thoughts and feedback during session:

Communicate with Your Legislators

Shoreline School District is represented by the legislators of the 1st and 32nd districts. These are:

1st Legislative District - Lake Forest Park


Senator Derek Stanford
derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov
(360) 786-7600

Legislative Assistant:
Stephen Cardamenis stephen.cardamenis@leg.wa.gov

 

Rep. Shelley Kloba
shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov
(360) 786-7900

Legislative Assistant:
Brian Haifley brian.haifley@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2377

 

Rep. Davina Duerr
davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov
(360) 786-7928

Legislative Assistant:

Ann Dasch ann.dasch@leg.wa.gov

 

32nd Legislative District - Shoreline

Senator Jesse Salomon
jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov
(360) 786-7662

Legislative Assistant:

John Elder john.elder@leg.wa.gov

 

Rep. Cindy Ryu
cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov
(360) 786-7880

Legislative Assistant:

Shoubee Liaw shoubee.liaw@leg.wa.gov

 

Rep. Lauren Davis
lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov
(360) 786-7910

Legislative Assistant:

Charlotte Janovyak charlotte.janovyak@leg.wa.gov

 

The committee chairs / ranking members of the committees that will hear and debate education policy and funding bills are:

House of Representatives

Education

Sharon Tomiko Santos - Chair sharontominko.santos@leg.wa.gov

Clyde Shavers - Vice Chair clyde.shavers@leg.wa.gov

Skyler Rude - Ranking Member skyler.rude@leg.wa.gov

Joel McEntire - Asst. Ranking Member joel.mcentire@leg.wa.gov 

FULL LIST OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS

 

Appropriations

Timm Ormsby - Chair timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov 

Steve Bergquist - Vice Chair steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov

Mia Gregerson - Vice Chair mia.gregerson@leg.wa.gov

Nicole Macri - Vice Chair nicole.macri@leg.wa.gov

Drew Stokesbary - Ranking Member drew.stokesbary@leg.wa.gov

Kelly Chambers - Asst. Ranking Member kelly.chambers@leg.wa.gov

Chris Corry - Asst Ranking Member chris.corry@leg.wa.gov 

FULL LIST OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS

 

Senate

Early Learning & K-12 Education

Lisa Wellman - Chair lisa.wellman@leg.wa.gov

T’wina Nobles - Vice Chair t’wina.nobles@leg.wa.gov

Claire Wilson - Vice Chair claire.wilson@leg.wa.gov

Brad Hawkins - Ranking Member brad.hawkins@leg.wa.gov

FULL LIST OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS

 

Ways & Means

Christine Rolfes - Chair christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov

June Robinson - Vice Chair Operating Budget & Revenue june.robinson@leg.wa.gov

Lynda Wilson - Ranking Member Operating Budget lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov

Chris Gildon - Asst. Ranking Member Operating Budget chris.gildon@leg.wa.gov 

FULL LIST OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS


 

Testify or Submit a Position on a Bill Being Heard in Committee

Each Thursday, the committee schedule for the next week is established. You can track what bills are being heard by visiting the Committee Schedules, Agendas, and Documents page on the legislature website.

Use the Committee Sign-in page to sign up to provide verbal testimony, written testimony, or simply record your position on various bills. NOTE: positions and in-person/remote testimony sign-ins can be submitted up to 1 hour before the hearing; written testimony can be submitted up to 24 hours after the hearing.


A quick video tutorial of how to do the sign-up process

Guidance from the legislature on how to testify in committee
 

 

Send Comments on a Specific Bill to the Bill Sponsor(s)

Send bill comments by searching for bills by number, then use the “Comment on this Bill” button to use the online comment form. This will go to the people sponsoring the bill.

 

Additional Resources